The Trailblazer Award

As part of the Association of Social and Behavioral Scientists' 75th Anniversary Celebration, special recognitions were presented to oustanding former ASBS leaders for their contributions, pioneering personal achievements, and continued support of the Association. Living and deceased members received the Trailblazer Award. Presentations were made by President George L. Whaley during the Annual W. E. B. DuBois Award Luncheon.  These Trailblazers are listed below: 

Grace Towns Hamilton Distinguished Professor of Sociology and African American Studies
Emory University
Professor Emeritus of Sociology
Indiana State University
Retired President
Dillard University
Professor Emeritus of Political Science
Fuller E. Callaway Professor of History
Morehouse College
Professor Emeritus of Sociology
Alabama State University (Montgomery)
Professor of Sociology
University of Arkansas
Professor Emerita of Sociology
Ohio University
President Emerita
International Black Women’s Congress
Professor of Sociology
Emeritus Distinguished Professor of
Sociology and Graduate Dean
Florida A&M University
Retired President
Johnson C. Smith University
Interim President, Shaw University

The Trailblazer Award was also presented posthumously to the following former ASBS leaders.